TG-page-001.jpg
guitare classique-page-001.jpg
lettre du musicien-page-001.jpg
lettre du musicien 2-page-001 (1).jpg

la presse en parle

article figaro.jpg
filename-1_edited.jpg
filename-1_edited.jpg

 

In the history of guitar performance, the duo Ida Presti (1924-1967) and Alexandre Lagoya (1929-1999), united in the city and on stage, occupy a very prominent place. The activity of these two instrumentalists covers the period from 1951 to 1967, the last one being the year of Ida Presti's untimely death during a tour of the United States. Certainly this was not the first time that two renowned guitarists had combined their talent to create a guitar duo. But the Duo Presti-Lagoya is undoubtedly the first duo in the history of the instrument to be formed by two soloists of equal notoriety and fully committed to this formation.

Within 15 years Presti and Lagoya will give more than 2000 concerts all over the world and record a dozen records that will become real bestsellers. They are the dedicatees of the main masterpieces composed for guitar duos in the 20th century. Their careers are amazing, the whole world is cheering them on. There is an incredible media craze. They are on all fronts, TSF, Television, the largest theatres in the world.

Ida Presti

Ida Presti was born in Suresnes on May 31, 1924, to an Italian mother and a French father. The latter, an amateur accordionist and medium, immediately saw in her the genius and artistic sensitivity that would animate her throughout her life. One evening, while he was attending a concert by Andrés Segovia, a premonitory flash appeared as a matter of course: his daughter would be a guitarist. 

 

In 1932, at the age of 8, Ida performed for the first time in a small group. Two years later, on April 28, 1935, she gave her first major recital in Paris, at the Salle Chopin, where she had a great success. 

 

At the age of 12, she recorded her first records with "Pathé" and played the role of a guitarist in Maurice Cloche's film "Le petit chose"

 

At 17, she went alone to Indonesia to tour for three months. 

After a few difficult years between Nice and Marseille, she took refuge in Allauch and met her first husband. From this union her daughter Elizabeth was born. At the end of the war, she divorced and gradually resumed her career. Success is back on track. And it was in 1951 that she met her alter ego, a young guitarist from Egypt:

Alexandre Lagoya. 

 

At that time, the repertoire for two guitars was relatively poor, but many contemporary composers such as Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Jolivet, Petit, Lesur, or Rodrigo, put themselves to work and wrote scores for this outstanding duo. 

 

The couple travels the world to give performances or masterclasses. Teaching is an important part of the duo's career. The press and the media are quick to tell their nomadic stories. Television interviews, print media, radio, the duo is on all fronts, and their careers are constantly evolving. At the peak of their fame, they embarked on a major tour of the United States in 1967. This tour will be the last one. While they are playing in Saint Louis with the symphony orchestra, Ida is suddenly sick after a concert. 

 

As soon as she arrived, she was immediately transported to the hospital, and died a few hours later. 

"I want my life to be simple and straight like an empty reed so that God can fill it up with Music". Ida Presti

​​​​​​​​

Alexandre Lagoya

Born in Alexandria in 1929 to a Greek father and an Italian mother, he began his musical and guitar studies at the age of 8.

At the age of 13 he gave his first recital and at the age of 15 he already taught guitar and music theory. After having given more than 500 concerts, he moved to Paris, where France became his adopted country, where he continued his educational and artistic career and toured extensively in all European countries.

 

In 1952, he married the famous French guitarist Ida Presti with whom he formed the duo Presti-Lagoya. They then founded a guitar class together at the Schola Cantorum. Through their 15 international tours, which include more than 2000 concerts, the composers D. Lesur, A. Jolivet, L. Alibert, P. Petit, H. Tomasi, S. Lancen, J. Wiener, J. Rodrigo, M. C. Tedesco, dedicate their works to them.

 

Alexandre Lagoya is asked several times to teach guitar in universities in the U.S.A. and especially at the J.M.C. (Canada) and since 1960 has been leading the guitar class at the International Summer Academy in Nice, thus training many students who hold positions in the most important conservatories in the world.

 

He became a professor at the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris in October 1969, the date of the creation of a guitar class. Alexandre Lagoya performs all over the world. Alexandre Lagoya is considered one of the most extraordinary guitarists of our time.

 

In 1965, the French government made him Commandeur du Mérite Culturel et Artistique; in 1972, Chevalier du Mérite National; in 1974, Chevalier des Arts et Lettres for his action in favour of music throughout the world.

 

Despite all his activities, this smiling, generous, direct man loved the youth he helped and advised. Everything interested him, painting, architecture, literature, nature, animals... He loved to travel, but it was with infinite pleasure that he found his home located in a still privileged setting in the Paris region where he rests

TG-page-001.jpg
guitare classique-page-001.jpg
lettre du musicien-page-001.jpg
lettre du musicien 2-page-001 (1).jpg

la presse en parle

article figaro.jpg
filename-1_edited.jpg
filename-1_edited.jpg

 

Dans l'histoire de l’interprétation guitaristique, le duo Ida Presti (1924-1967) et Alexandre Lagoya (1929-1999), unis à la ville comme à la scène, occupe une place de tout premier rang. L'activité de ces deux instrumentistes s’étend sur la période de 1951 à 1967, la dernière étant l'année de la mort prématurée d’Ida Presti au cours d'une tournée aux États-Unis. Assurément ce n'était pas la première fois que deux guitaristes réputés avait jumeler leur talent pour donner vie à un duo de guitare. Mais le Duo Presti-Lagoya est sans conteste dans l’histoire de l'instrument le premier duo formé par deux solistes d’égale notoriété et entièrement engagé dans cette formation. 

En l'espace de 15 ans Presti et Lagoya donneront plus de 2000 concerts dans le monde entier et enregistreront une douzaine de disque qui deviendront de véritables best-seller. Ils sont les dédicataires des principaux chefs-d’oeuvre composé pour les duo de guitare au XXe siècle. Leur carrière est stupéfiante, le monde entier les acclament. Il y a un engouement médiatique incroyable. Ils sont sur tous les fronts, la TSF, la Télévison, les plus grandes salles mondiales.

Ida Presti

Ida Presti naît à Suresnes le 31 mai 1924, d’une mère italienne et d’un père français. Ce dernier, accordéoniste amateur et médium, voit immédiatement en elle le génie et la sensibilité artistique qui l’animeront tout au long de sa vie. Un soir, alors qu’il assiste à un concert d’Andrés Segovia, un flash prémonitoire se manifeste comme une évidence : sa fille sera guitariste. 

En 1932, à l’âge de 8 ans, Ida se produit pour la première fois en petit comité. Deux ans plus tard, le 28 avril 1935, elle donne son premier grand récital à Paris, à la Salle Chopin, où elle rencontre un immense succès. 

À 12 ans elle enregistre ses premiers disques chez « Pathé » et joue le rôle d’une guitariste dans le film de Maurice Cloche « Le petit chose »

À 17 ans, elle part seule en Indonésie pour réaliser une tournée pendant trois mois.

Après quelques années difficiles entre Nice et Marseille, elle se réfugie à Allauch et rencontre son premier mari. De cette union naîtra sa fille Elisabeth. A la fin de la guerre, elle divorce et reprend progressivement sa carrière. Le succès est à nouveau au rendez- vous. Et c’est en 1951 qu’elle rencontrera son alter ego, un jeune guitariste venu d’Egypte : Alexandre Lagoya . 

A cette époque, le répertoire pour deux guitares se révèle relativement pauvre, mais de nombreux compositeurs contemporains tels que Castelnuovo-Tedesco, Jolivet, Petit, Lesur, ou encore Rodrigo, se mettent à l’œuvre et écrivent des partitions pour ce duo émérite. 

Le couple parcourt le monde entier pour donner des représentations ou encore réaliser des masterclass. L’enseignement tient une place importante dans la carrière du duo. La presse et les médias s’empressent de raconter leurs parcours nomades. Interviews télévisées, presse écrite, radio, le duo est sur tous les fronts, et leur carrière ne cesse d’évoluer. Au sommet de leur gloire, ils entreprennent une grande tournée aux Etats-Unis, en 1967. Cette tournée sera la dernière. Alors qu’ils jouent à Saint Louis avec l’orchestre symphonique, Ida est prise d’un malaise soudain après un concert. 

Dés son arrivée elle est immédiatement transportée à l’hôpital, et s’éteint quelques heures après. 

 

« Je veux que ma vie soit simple et droite comme un roseau vide afin que Dieu puisse l’emplir de Musique ». Ida Presti

​​​​​​​​

Alexandre Lagoya

Né à Alexandrie en 1929 d’un père grec et d’une mère italienne, il commence ses études musicales et de guitare à l’âge de 8 ans.

A 13 ans il donne son premier récital et à 15 ans, il enseigne déjà la guitare et le solfège. Après avoir donné plus de 500 concerts, il s’installe à Paris, où la France devient son pays d’adoption.Poursuivant sa carrière pédagogique et artistique, il effectue une immense tournée de concerts dans tous les pays d’Europe.

 

En 1952, il épouse la célèbre guitariste française Ida Presti avec laquelle il forme le duo Presti-Lagoya. Ils fondent alors ensemble une classe de guitare à la Schola Cantorum. A travers leurs 15 tournées internationales, qui comprennent plus de 2000 concerts, les compositeurs D. Lesur, A. Jolivet, L. Alibert, P. Petit, H. Tomasi, S. Lancen, J. Wiener, J. Rodrigo, M. C. Tedesco, leur dédient leurs œuvres.

Alexandre Lagoya est demandé à plusieurs reprises pour enseigner la guitare dans les universités aux U.S.A. et notamment aux J.M.C. (Canada) et dirige à partir de 1960 la classe de guitare à l’Académie Internationale d’Eté de Nice, formant ainsi de nombreux élèves qui occupent des postes dans les Conservatoires parmi les plus importants à travers le monde.

 

Il devient professeur au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris en octobre 1969, date de la création d’une classe de guitare. Alexandre Lagoya donne des concerts dans le monde entier. Alexandre Lagoya est considéré comme un des plus extraordinaires guitaristes de notre temps.

 

En 1965, le gouvernement français le fait Commandeur du Mérite Culturel et Artistique; en 1972, Chevalier du Mérite National; en 1974, Chevalier des Arts et Lettres pour son action en faveur de la musique à travers le monde.

 

Malgré toutes ses activités, cet homme souriant, généreux, direct, aimait la jeunesse qu’il aidait et conseillait. Tout l’intéressait, la peinture, l’architec­ture, la littérature, la nature, les animaux... Il aimait voyager, mais c’est avec un infini plaisir qu’il retrouvait sa demeure située dans un cadre encore privilégié en région parisienne ou il repose.